Western gall rust

Western gall rust - Branch and stem galls on lodgepole pine caused by <em>E. harknessii</em>

Latin name: Endocronartium harknessii (J.P. Moore) Y. Hiratsuka
French name: Rouille-tumeur autonome
Division: Basidiomycota
Class: Uredinales

Synonym(s): Cronartium harknessii E. Meinecke,
Peridium cerebroides E. Meinecke,
Peridium harknessii J.P. Moore

Micro-habitat(s)

Twig, Branch

Distribution

Canada

Damage, symptoms and biology

The fungus causes a gall that encircles the stem or bole of infected trees. White blisters develop at the site of the gall, just beneath the bark. In spring, the blisters burst and orange spores are released which end up infecting other pines. Rupturing of the blisters results in desiccation of the underlying living bark, killing the bark area around the gall. Following the death of the water-conducting tissues, some needles will die in the lower part of the branch, near the distal portion of the gall.

Damage is not significant on mature trees where most infections occur on branches. Branch galls do not result in serious growth losses. However, infections on young trees more often result in main stem galls that can cause stem malformations and predispose the tree to breakage in high winds or under heavy snow loads (Figs e, f).

A large numbers of galls reduces the aesthetic appearance and value of ornamentals and Christmas trees.

Other information

Unlike the other important stem rusts, E. harknessii does not require an alternate host to complete its life cycle. Infection occurs directly from pine-to-pine. This allows rapid intensification of the disease when conditions optimal for infection occur. However, such conditions only occur every several years, resulting in "wave years" of infection and gall formation.

Pruning the infected branches prior to spore production is a good means of control. Rodents feed on the galls in winter, and this may result in a high level of mortality some years.

Canadian Forest Service Publications

Western gall rust

Main host(s)

Jack pine, Monterey pine, scots pine, scots pine, shore pine

Secondary host(s)

Austrian pine, mugho pine

Rouille-tumeur autonome

Rouille-tumeur autonome - Pin tordu avec tumeurs des branches et de la tige causées par <em>E. harknessii</em>

Nom latin : Endocronartium harknessii (J.P. Moore) Y. Hiratsuka
Nom anglais : Western gall rust
Division : Basidiomycota
Classe : Uredinales

Synonyme(s) : Cronartium harknessii E. Meinecke,
Peridium cerebroides E. Meinecke,
Peridium harknessii J.P. Moore

Micro-habitat(s)

Rameau, Branche

Distribution

Partout au Canada

Dommages, symptômes et biologie

Le champignon cause une tumeur qui encercle la tige ou le tronc des arbres atteints. Des cloques blanches se développent à l’emplacement de la tumeur, juste sous l’écorce. Au printemps, les cloques éclatent et des spores orangées sont disséminées et vont infecter d’autres pins. L’éclatement des cloques provoque la dessiccation de l’écorce vivante sous-jacente et la mort de l’écorce à l’endroit de la tumeur. Cette mortalité du tissu conducteur provoque, au niveau de la partie distale de la tumeur, la mort des aiguilles plus loin vers le bas de la branche.

Les dommages causés aux arbres matures ne sont pas importants quand la majorité des infections qui se trouvent sur les branches. Les tumeurs des branches ne provoquent pas de graves réductions de croissance. Cependant, les infections touchant de jeunes arbres provoquent plus souvent des tumeurs de la tige principale, qui peuvent entraîner des malformations de la tige et prédisposer l’arbre à des cassures causées par des vents violents ou de lourdes charges de neige.

Un grand nombre de tumeurs réduit l'aspect esthétique et la valeur des arbres d'ornement et des arbres de Noël.

Autres informations

Contrairement aux autres rouilles importantes de la tige, E. harknessii n’a pas besoin d’un hôte intermédiaire pour compléter son cycle vital. L’infection se propage directement d’un pin à un autre. Cette caractéristique favorise une propagation rapide de la maladie lorsque les conditions sont très propices à l’infection. Cependant, ce type de conditions n’est réuni qu’à intervalle de plusieurs années, ce qui fait que l’infection et la formation de tumeurs survient « par vagues ».

L’émondage des branches atteintes avant la production de spores constitue un bon moyen de lutte. Les rongeurs se nourrissent de la tumeur en hiver et peuvent causer une mortalité élevée certaines années.

Publications du Service canadien des forêts

Rouille-tumeur autonome

Hôte(s) principal(aux)

Pin de Monterey, pin gris, pin sylvestre, pin sylvestre, pin tordu côtier

Hôte(s) secondaire(s)

Pin mugo, pin noir d'Autriche