Larch pug moth

Larch pug moth -

Latin name: Eupithecia annulata (Hulst)
French name: No french name
Order: Lepidoptera
Family: Geometridae

Distribution

British Columbia, Newfoundland, Ontario, Yukon

Generally distributed throughout British Columbia; it also occurs north to the Yukon, east to Newfoundland and Labrador, and south to California and Colorado.

Micro-habitat(s)

Needle

Damage, symptoms and biology

Eupithecia annulata is a common innocuous solitary defoliator.

Mature larva up to 22 mm long. This species has two distinct morphs. The more common morph has both a green variant (more common) and a brown variant. The green variant has a green head and body with a middorsal dark green pinstripe and irregular yellow lateral stripe. The brown variant is similarly marked. The less common morph has a greenish brown, reddish brown or yellowish brown head and body; the dorsum is marked with a prominent dark arrowhead pattern, dark triangular subdorsal markings and irregular yellow lateral stripe.

This species overwinters in the pupal stage. Adults emerge from April to June; larvae are present from May to August and pupation occurs from July to August.

Canadian Forest Service Publications

Larch pug moth

Diet and feeding behaviour

  • Phyllophagous: Feeds on the leaves of plants.
    • Free-living defoliator: Feeds on and moves about freely on foliage.
The principal hosts of Eupithecia annulata are Douglas-fir and western hemlock; other hosts include grand fir, amabilis fir, subalpine fir, Engelmann spruce, white spruce, Sitka spruce, western redcedar and mountain hemlock.

Main host(s)

Douglas-fir, Engelmann spruce, Rocky Mountain Douglas-fir, western hemlock, white spruce

Secondary host(s)

Amabilis fir, balsam fir, black spruce, Engelmann spruce, Garry oak, grand fir, lodgepole pine, mountain hemlock, Sitka spruce, subalpine fir, subalpine fir, western larch, western redcedar, western white pine, white spruce

Eupithecia annulata (Hulst)

 -

Nom latin : Eupithecia annulata (Hulst)
Nom anglais : Larch pug moth
Ordre : Lepidoptera
Famille : Geometridae

Distribution

Colombie-Britannique, Terre-Neuve, Ontario, Yukon

Cette espèce est présente dans toute la Colombie-Britannique; on la retrouve aussi vers le nord jusqu’au Yukon, vers l’est jusqu’à Terre-Neuve et vers le sud jusqu’en Californie et au Colorado.

Micro-habitat(s)

Aiguille

Dommages, symptômes et biologie

L’Eupithecia annulata est un défoliateur solitaire inoffensif commun.

Les larves matures mesurent jusqu’à 22 mm de longueur. Cette espèce a deux formes distinctes. La forme la plus commune a un variant vert (le plus fréquent) et un variant brun. Le variant vert a une tête et un corps verts, avec une fine rayure médiodorsale de couleur vert foncé et une rayure latérale irrégulière de couleur jaune. Le variant brun a des marques semblables. Cette forme moins courante a une tête et un corps brun verdâtre, brun rougeâtre ou brun jaunâtre; le dorsum est orné d’un motif fléché foncé bien visible ainsi que de marques subdorsales triangulaires foncées; rayure latérale irrégulière jaune.

Cette espèce passe l’hiver à l’état de chrysalide. Les adultes émergent d’avril à juin; les larves sont présentes de mai à août et la nymphose se produit de juillet à août.

Publications du Service canadien des forêts

http://cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/publications/recherche?query=&process=Recherche

Régime et comportement alimentaire

  • Phyllophage : Qui se nourrit du tissu de la feuille des végétaux.
    • Défoliateur libre : Qui se nourrit et se déplace librement sur le feuillage.
Les principaux hôtes de l’Eupithecia annulata sont le Douglas taxifolié et la pruche de l’Ouest; parmi ses autres hôtes, on compte le sapin grandissime, le sapin gracieux, le sapin subalpin, l’épinette d’Engelmann, l’épinette blanche, l’épinette de Sitka, le thuya géant et la pruche subalpine.

Hôte(s) principal(aux)

Douglas bleu, douglas vert, Épinette blanche, Épinette d'Engelmann, pruche de l'Ouest

Hôte(s) secondaire(s)

Chêne de Garry, épinette blanche de l'Ouest, Épinette d'Engelmann, Épinette de Sitka, Épinette noire, mélèze de l'Ouest, pin argenté, pin tordu latifolié, pruche subalpine, sapin baumier, sapin gracieux, sapin grandissime, sapin subalpin, sapin subalpin, thuya géant